Lifeblood and Stone

Lifeblood and Stone_BreenaWilde_23706266

PARANORMAL, EROTIC AND, THANKFULLY, VERY SHORT

2 STARS

Sometimes literary brevity can be a blessing.

“Lifeblood and Stone” is Breena Wilde’s very short – as in only 15 pages – introduction to her Moth Society series. In this entry, we meet Michael Lifeblood, one of the governing partners of the law firm, Lifeblood and Stone. We also meet Amanda, who is a fast-rising attorney in Lifeblood’s firm. It is Amanda’s POV through which we experience the events that unfold.

These events take place over two scenes, one of which serves to place the characters at the law firm’s annual Halloween masquerade ball. This section is very well written and sets the stage perfectly. The other scene is for Lifeblood and Amanda’s sexual encounter, or should I say, “encounters.” And this section is written about as poorly as I have seen in some years.

In this second scene, Wilde pens four separate and different sexual interactions within a span of approximately 10 pages. And each is graphically and luridly described with gutter-level verbiage.

Now, I am no prude. I possess a few favorite expressions of my own. I also feel that erotic scenes that are well placed in a story arc can be both a delight and good transition points. But this was overkill, too much in too little space, and it came across as oily, smarmy and dirty rather than hot and steamy.

Now, before I ever started the short, I knew the genre was listed as paranormal erotica and the promotional blurb included a maturity warning. But, frankly, by the time I got to the paranormal part – and the name “Lifeblood” is a big clue here – I felt I needed to wash my brain out with soap.

Cover Art From Goodreads

Leave a Reply

